
Stylist Article – October 2019 
 
Stay Up-to-Date with the Board 
 
Day after day, the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology fields calls from people who have delayed 
taking the necessary steps to renew their license before the expiration date, or failed to submit a 
change of address, or moved to another state without first considering the steps they need to take 
to acquire “reciprocity” for their California license in their new home.  
 
You should always make sure you’re up-to-date with the Board. Timely license renewal is 
important. Section 7317 of California’s Business and Professions Code states in part:   
 

“… It is unlawful for any person, firm, or corporation to engage in barbering, cosmetology, or 
electrolysis for compensation without a valid, unexpired license issued by the board, or in an 
establishment or mobile unit other than one licensed by the board, or conduct or operate an 
establishment, or any other place of business in which barbering, cosmetology, or 
electrolysis is practiced unless licensed under this chapter … ” 
 

Section 7397 of the Business and Professions Code states that: 
 
“Every licensee shall display the license in a conspicuous place in his or her place of 
business or place of employment.” 

 
Taken together, what these two sections mean, is that it’s not enough to be listed as being licensed 
in Board records: you must have your license up-to-date, in hand and on display at your workstation 
or in your establishment in order to provide services. This makes timely renewal of your license vital 
to your professional well-being. You can also be cited and fined for operating or working with an 
expired license, or working in a shop  
 
We want to help. As a result, you can expect to receive a courtesy notice from the Board 
approximately two and a half months before your renewal is due (the Board typically asks that 
renewals by mail be submitted no more than 60 days before the expiration date). You’ll get your 
new license in approximately three weeks, thereby ensuring that your ability to provide services will 
continue uninterrupted. But of course, to take advantage of this “heads up,” the Board needs to 
have your mailing address on file. By law, you must notify the Board of a change of address within 
30 days.  Make sure to do so. All too often, licensees will fail to update their address and not 
receive the courtesy notice, only to see their license become delinquent — and their ability to make 
a living temporarily lapse. This can cost you money, either because you had to stop working, or 
continued to work and were cited by a Board inspector for unlicensed activity. 
 
You can save yourself a lot of time by renewing your license on BreEze, the Board’s online 
licensing system.  All you need to do is sign up for a BreEze account, pay the renewal fee and your 
license will update immediately. Your paper copy will arrive in the mail in about a week. You can 
even use the system to change your address instantly.  
 
Finally, if you are licensed in California and planning to move out of state, make sure you plan 
ahead.  Contact barbering and cosmetology officials in your new state of residence as soon as 
possible and get their licensing requirements. Most states have “reciprocity” agreements with 
California, which means that you can use your California license to qualify for a license in another 
state. Most states require a certification from California’s Board. You can ask that a certification be 
mailed to your new state by filling out the form at 
http://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/forms_pubs/forms/reciprocity.pdf and mailing it to us with the $10 

http://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/forms_pubs/forms/reciprocity.pdf
http://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/forms_pubs/forms/reciprocity.pdf


fee. Keep in mind that it can take as long as four weeks for the Board to issue the certification to 
your new state. But once again, by using BreEze, you can cut down the processing time for a 
license certification to as little as a week. 
 
So, don’t delay. Make sure you’re up-to-date with the Board. 
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