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WHAT TO KNOW  
BEFORE CHOOSING 

 A COSMETOLOGY 
SCHOOL 

 

MISSION OF THE BOARD 

Ensuring the health and safety 
of California consumers by 
promoting ethical standards 

and by enforcing the laws of the 
beauty and barbering industry.

WHY DO I NEED A LICENSE?

Cosmetologists, estheticians, and manicurists are licensed 
and regulated in California by the Board of Barbering and 
Cosmetology. The Board works to ensure that these licensees 
follow state law and infection control standards to protect 
consumers.

WHICH LICENSE TYPE SHOULD I GET?

Think about which types of services you would want to 
provide. Note that cosmetologists (hair, skin, and nail care) 
can provide the same services as estheticians (skin care)  
and manicurists (nail care).

DOES THE BOARD RECOMMEND SCHOOLS?

The Board can not recommend particular schools.  
The Board developed this pamphlet to help prospective 
students know what to look for in a cosmetology school.

1 included in the practice of skin care 
2 included in the practice of nail care

THE PRACTICE OF COSMETOLOGY IS ALL OR ANY 
COMBINATION OF THE FOLLOWING PRACTICES:

•	 Arranging, dressing, curling, waving, machineless 		
	 permanent waving, permanent waving, cleansing, cutting,  
	 shampooing, relaxing, singeing, bleaching, tinting,  
	 coloring, straightening, dyeing, applying hair tonics to, 	
	 beautifying, or otherwise treating by any means the hair  
	 of any person.

•	 Massaging, cleaning, or stimulating the scalp, face, neck,  
	 arms, or upper part of the human body, by means of  
	 the hands, devices, apparatus or appliances, with  
	 or without the use of cosmetic preparations, antiseptics,  
	 tonics, lotions, or creams.1

•	 Beautifying the face, neck, arms, or upper part of the 		
	 human body, by use of cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, 	
	 tonics, lotions, or creams.1

•	 Removing superfluous hair from the body of any person 	
	 by the use of depilatories or by the use of tweezers, 		
	 chemicals or preparations, or by the use of devices or 		
	 appliances of any kind or description, except by the use  
	 of light waves, commonly known as rays.1

•	 Cutting, trimming, polishing, tinting, coloring, cleansing,  
	 or manicuring the nails of any person.2

•	 Massaging, cleansing, treating, or beautifying the hands 	
	 or feet of any person.2

•	 Tinting and perming of the eyelashes and brows,  
	 or applying eyelashes to any person.1

https://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/


CURRICULUM

The curriculum for a cosmetology course shall, at a 
minimum, include technical and practical instruction  
in the following areas:

	 •	 100 hours in health and safety 
	 •	 100 hours in disinfection and sanitation 
	 •	 200 hours in chemical hair services 
	 •	 200 hours in hairstyling services 
	 •	 150 hours in skin care services 
	 •	 50 hours in hair removal and lash and brow 		
			  beautification 
	 •	 100 hours in manicure and pedicure

The curriculum for an esthetic (skin care) course shall,  
at a minimum, include technical and practical instruction  
in the following areas:

	 •	 100 hours in health and safety 
	 •	 100 hours in disinfection and sanitation 
	 •	 350 hours in skin care 
	 •	 50 hours in hair removal and lash and brow 		
			  beautification

The curriculum for a nail care course shall, at a minimum, 
include the technical and practical instruction in the  
following areas:

	 •	 100 hours in health and safety 
	 •	 100 hours in disinfection and sanitation 
	 •	 150 hours in manicure and pedicure

For additional minimum curriculum requirement information, 
please review Business and Professions Code sections 
7362.5, 7364, and 7365.

BOARD-APPROVED COSMETOLOGY SCHOOLS

The Board approves schools of cosmetology. For a school  
to be approved by the Board, it must meet the Board’s 
minimum curriculum requirements. Courses taught by schools 
not approved by the Board will not be recognized  
and any hours obtained taking these courses and any 
certificates received will not qualify you for a Board 
examination.

The Board does not approve of manicuring, esthetics, 
makeup, or eyelash extension schools. Any services that 
fall under cosmetology must be taught in an approved 
cosmetology school that meets all school requirements  
and offers the full cosmetology course. A list of approved 
schools can be found on the Board’s website at:  
www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/schools/approved_schools.pdf.

The curriculum minimum hours are as follows:

	 –	Cosmetology = 1,000 hours 
	 –	Esthetics = 600 hours 
	 –	Manicuring = 400 hours

Schools may offer programs that exceed the minimum hours. 
If the minimum program requirements of the school exceed 
the minimum requirements for state licensure, the school 
shall disclose this, including a list of those programs that are 
not required for state licensure. Please check with schools 
about which programs they offer.

RESEARCH THE SCHOOL

Using the Board’s list of approved schools, visit the school’s 
website, call, or visit the campus to learn about their 
programs offered, curriculum, tuition costs, student services, 
and more.  Look online for reviews from past students. 
Research multiple schools to see which would be the right  
fit for you.

To obtain a cosmetologist, esthetician, or manicurist license, 
you will need to pass a written licensing exam.  You can 
review a school’s pass/fail rates for the licensing exam at: 
www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/schools/schls_rslts.shtml. 

ACCREDITATION

Accreditation is the recognition from an accrediting agency 
that an institution maintains a certain level of educational 
standards. The U.S. Department of Education maintains a 
database of accrediting agencies it recognizes at:  
https://ope.ed.gov/dapip. The Board can not make any 
recommendations on accrediting agencies.

Accreditation ensures a certain level of academic quality. 
Accreditation means a school demonstrates positive  
student outcomes, like retention, graduation, and 
employment. Schools approved by the Board are not  
required to be accredited, but that is something to recognize 
when researching schools.

FILING A COMPLAINT

The Board has jurisdiction over Board-approved schools 
for violations of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act and 
Regulations regarding health and safety issues, meeting 
minimum equipment requirements, and/or operating  
without approval from the Board. If you have concerns  
under the Board’s jurisdiction, you may file a complaint 
on the Board’s website at: https://barbercosmo.ca.gov/
enforcement/complaint.shtml. You may also submit 
a complaint if a school offers to sell you hours or is not 
teaching the required curriculum.

THE BUREAU FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY 
EDUCATION

All schools must meet the minimum operating  
requirements in order to legally operate. The Bureau 
for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE) protects 
students and consumers through the oversight of  
California’s private postsecondary educational institutions.

If you have concerns regarding fraud, contractual issues 
(enrollment agreement not followed), unqualified faculty, 
operating without BPPE approval, and disciplinary actions 
taken by another state or state agency, you can visit  
BPPE’s website at www.bppe.ca.gov, call toll-free at  
(888) 370-7589, or email: bppe@dca.ca.gov.
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